Skip to main content

Board of Directors

*denotes executive committee member

  • Rebecca Alexander, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Chemistry
    Wake Forest University
  • Peyton Anderson, MBA
    Affinergy, Inc.
  • Anthony "Tony" Atala, M.D.
    Director, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine; Professor and Chair Department of Urology
    Wake Forest Baptist Health
  • John L. Atkins III, FAIA*
    Chairman and CEO
    O'Brien/Atkins Associates, PA
  • John (Jack) Bailey
    President, North America Pharmaceuticals
  • Michelle Berrey, M.D.*
    President and CEO
    Chimerix, Inc.
  • George B. Briggs*
    Executive Director
    The North Carolina Arboretum
  • Lawrence Carin, Ph.D.
    Vice Provost for Research
    Duke University
  • Michael T. Constantino*
    Treasurer, Board of Directors
    Assurance Partner
    EY LLP
  • Tony Copeland
    Secretary of Commerce
    State of North Carolina
  • James "Jim" Datin
    President and CEO
    BioAgilytix Labs Inc.
  • Richard H. Dean, M.D.*
    Retired President and CEO
    Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center
  • Douglas Edgeton
    Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    North Carolina Biotechnology Center
  • Frank Grainger
    Fair Products, Inc.
  • Kristen Heath
    Managing Director
    Heath Contract Consulting
  • Undi Hoffler, Ph.D.
    Director, Research Compliance & Technology Transfer
    North Carolina Central University
  • John Jackson Hunt
    Emeritus Board Member
  • Jeff N. Hunter
    Vice President of Technical Operations
    Novan, Inc.
  • Terri Lomax, Ph.D.
    Executive Vice President, Discovery-Science-Technology
    RTI International
  • Terry Magnuson, Ph.D.
    Vice Chancellor, Research and Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Genetics
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Carol A. Marino
    Argentes Consulting, LLC
  • Arthur M. Pappas*
    Managing Partner
    Pappas Ventures
  • Joy Parr Drach
    President & CEO
    Advanced Animal Diagnostics, Inc.
  • Joshua L. Price
    Patent Attorney
    Forrest Firm, P.C.
  • Milton L. Prince
    President and CEO
    Coastal Carolina Cotton Gins
  • John C. Rabby*
    Chairman, Board of Directors
    RE Inc.
  • Alan Rebar, Ph.D.
    Vice Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Economic Development
    North Carolina State University
  • Gerald F. Roach*
    Secretary, Board of Directors
    Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan LLP
  • Jose "Zito" Sartarelli, Ph.D.
    University of North Carolina Wilmington
  • Margaret Spellings
    University of North Carolina
    General Administration
  • Steve Troxler
    North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Michael R. Van Scott, Ph.D.
    Chief Research Officer, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor
    Division of Research and Graduate Studies
    East Carolina University
  • Bhaskar R. Venepalli, Ph.D. MBA, FRSC
    President and Chief Executive Officer
  • Robert G. Wilhelm, Ph.D.
    Vice Chancellor, Research & Economic Development;
    Executive Director, Charlotte Research Institute; Professor, Mechanical Engineering & Engineering Science
    The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • James "Jimmie" Williamson
    North Carolina Community College System
  • Benjamin R. Yerxa, Ph.D.
    Chief Scientific Officer
    Liquidia Technologies


Board Staff:

  • William Pappas
    Counsel and Assistant Secretary
    Parker, Poe, Adams and Bernstein L.L.P.
  • Judy Orchard
    Senior Executive Assistant
    ​North Carolina Biotechnology Center